VATSIM beginner here needing some advice/help

Hello! I’m new to VATSIM (beginner) but I haven’t done my first flight yet since I couldn’t get an RPLL Airport diagram (my home airport). I managed to find the free Jeppesen charts but it was pretty old dating back to '05 or '06 so some taxiways don’t even exist there. In the Philippines vACC (VATPHIL) they also do not have the airport diagram besides SIDs and STARs, DEP/APP, etc. Chartfox doesn’t have RPLL in their database also. so where did you guys find yours?

I never thought that I would have to spend money to fly VATSIM just to keep up with other pilots/ATC using the latest info (even though you are not required to do so). Navigraph requires you to subscribe for the latest charts, updated airport sceneries are also paid, and Simbrief gives you an outdated AIRAC cycle unless you pay. The fact that the most essential things you need to fly are blocked with a paywall is so disappointing, especially for someone who is a beginner that has a lot of interest in flying. so are you guys subscribed to all of these?

The thing is, I’m so hesitant to fly with outdated simbrief-free AIRAC, old Jeppesen charts, missing an airport diagram, and default MSFS 2020 RPLL scenery. I’m so worried that I might just piss controllers and other pilots by entering the wrong taxiway that the only thing I can do is to just listen to them while being connected as an Observer.

How did you guys deal with all of these? I’d appreciate any advice that you can give me. Thanks.

Welcome onboard.

Try Volanta, can be standalone or browser. There is a Vatsim chart service in members area I think.