Question about VFR flight services

I’m new to vatsim and have been looking at a few youtube videos where they fly VFR. I’ve noticed they sometimes are asked/offered flight services like “Basic service” or “Flight following”. I can’t find much information about what these services mean and which are available to choose from. Are they all used around the world or is it different between countries?

There are differences between countries, so you’d have to be more specific about where are planning to fly VFR to find out what services you can expect.

To answer your question from the United States perspective (yes the services differ between countries).

As a real world instrument rated pilot, I have never gotten anything called “basic service”. However, VFR flight following is a common and useful service that ATC will provide, given they are not busy with other traffic.

Essentially, flight following is like IFR-lite. You don’t have to file a flight plan in advance, though it is recommended, and you can call ATC in the air and request VFR flight following. They’ll ask your destination and type aircraft, and sometimes a couple other questions. You’ll be provided a squawk code. Then, they’ll remain in 2-way radio contact with you and provide traffic separation for you. Sometimes, they will tell you to change your route or altitude, which you are recommended to do, but technically, you could just cancel your flight following if you didn’t want to. But that would be inadvisable because they’re telling you those things to keep you safe and separated from traffic.