Pilots who 'pop-up' near busy airports

I’m relatively new to VATSIM so forgive me if this topic has been raised elsewhere before this. I love VATSIM but several times now in a short period of time, both in Europe and US flying, I have been thrown off course literally by some VATSIM pilots who don’t have the time or inclination to perform a full flight in real time. These pilots have ‘popped-up’ in the virtual sky in such a way that they conflict with established traffic, including me, particularly in TMA’s and near busy airfields.
Where there are no controllers online, sometimes the situation can be managed between the pilots themselves, but where the sector is controlled, the controllers are left with no choice but to try sequence these ‘unexpected’ arrivals into their arrival patterns (it is nearly always ‘pop-up’ arrivals that cause the difficulties). It seems just unfair that someone who has put in hours in the cockpit flying the correct SIDs/STARs/ILS/RNAV/VOR procedures and is positioned for a good approach and landing has to be vectored off course/instruced to go-around/hold at XXX /. I’ve even had a ‘pop-up’ fast forwarding themselves (or disconnecting, fast forwarding,reconnecting, not sure what they did) to put themselves on the localizer at 5 miles when I’m turning onto it (in real time) at 7 miles! And, to add insult to injury, the controller allowed the ‘pop-up’ the privilege of landing, while telling me to go around!
We’re all hobbyists and time scarce, but given that VATSIM is trying to mirror the real world of flying, is it not unreasonable to ask that all pilots stick to that philosophy as far as practicable? At the very least, before deciding where to appear or reconnect to the VATSIM server could pilots have a look in Vatspy or Vatglasses and check where would be a good place to reappear without causing other pilots a lot of inconvenience?