Observing without MSFS2020 - VRC or vatSys - which tool is the right one?

Hi Folks, I’m new to the whole VATSIM experience and trying make sense of vatSys vs VRC. I’ve been trying to set myself up as an ATC/Radar observer without firing up MSFS2020 but its been hard to follow exactly how to do this. My questions are as follows:

1. Is vatSys simply a “next generation” version of VRC but specifically suited for Australia or is VRC equally suitable?
  2. If VRC is an option for Aus based ATC, where can I find the “sector” files needed to actually be an observer against Australia based ATC?
  3. Can we use vatSys for non-Australian based ATC interactions or will this simply not work?
  4. Is vatSys mainly intended for people acting as controllers?
  5. In vatSys, I’m successfully connected to the VATSIM network, positioned at SY_TWR, with SY_TWR frequency added and “ACTIVE” (in pink) active in the VCSC window…problem is I don’t hear anything except occassionally the box in pink saying “ACTIVE” changes to red and says “NO VOICE”…why is that? Im pretty sure my audio is working fine in other apps on the same audio devices.

I am new too, and not in your region, but with some searching I found some potentially helpful links:

It seems after 21 days of the post being up a more experienced user should be replying.

Q1 and Q2: It looks like VRC is officially retired for Australia based on the sector files page.
Q3: Too new myself to know, but I presume any supported client will technically work, but each region has their own recommended software so if you want an accurate depiction of what is going on you would want to use the client that the region has standardized on.
Q4: From what I have read, yes the controller clients are for people practicing to be controllers. For non-controllers just to see what is going on there is maps.vatsim.net and VatSpy and other similar clients.