New Pilot, trying to learn airspace/when to get clearance/check in

Hi all, been playing Flight Sim on and off for a good few years, starting with FS9. I’m decent with the phraseology and controlling the planes and that kind of thing, but I’ve only ever used the ATC in game and kind of mashed buttons when getting clearances for different airspace and such.

Before I get started with my first non-observer flight, I’m trying to get how to read the charts down so I can at least tell when I’m entering something and go from there. I plan on doing VFR in the smaller planes, airliners don’t interest me much.

Besides communicating that I’m new to Vatsim and might need some hand holding, I’m wondering when it’s appropriate to check in or get clearance for different airspaces. I’m assuming it’s better to check in when it might not be needed than to not check in at all?

I know clearance needs obtained prior to actually entering it, but should I start out by just always requesting clearance and letting ATC tell me if I actually need it or not depending on my altitude or how should I approach that while I’m getting airspaces down? I plan on starting in low population areas to make it easier on everyone while I’m figuring this all out.

It depends where you plan to be flying. It can vary a lot around the world.

Whoops, probably should’ve included that. Plan on starting around the Sioux Falls, SD area, staying close to there at first.

As an overall tip, check out the VATSIM Pilot Resource Center. They’ve put a lot of effort into compiling a staggering amount of information into reasonably-sized chunks.