Idea to Encourage Donations

TL;DR - Make it a requirement for VA Partnership that the VA management are donors to VATSIM Inc.

I personally think VATSIM should make it a requirement of the VA Partnership program for VA partners (the managers of the VAs) to be donors to VATSIM Inc. It could be that each VA Partner needs to donate at least $10 USD per month, donated by any of the VA Partner’s management.

I say this as a VA administrator myself - I think it is reasonable to expect that VA Partners are generally able to meet such a requirement, given that VAs tend to be run teams who can afford their VA’s running costs, and an extra $10 per month on top of their existing running costs probably wouldn’t be that steep an increase for them.

Moreover, VATSIM needs donors to survive. Based on the discussion that was had a few days ago in the community Discord server, VATSIM is only 30% funded for the current year.

According to the MyVATSIM website, there are around 150 VAs in the partner or associate programs. If even 50% of them complied with this requirement, VATSIM would roughly be fully funded for the year. (This is assuming the funding requirement is 12 000 USD per year, of which 30% or 3 600 is already raised, plus the total annual donations made by VA partners if 50% of them complied, 10x12x75=9 000, =12 000.)

This obviously isn’t a panacea to the donations issue, but in my opinion (as an outsider to the upper echelons of VATSIM,) VATSIM needs to try more and different ways to promote its fundraising, and this could be an interesting idea to try.

Keen to hear your thoughts,
Matt.

1 Like

Talking as a former staff member in the Virtual Airlines Department,