How to read coverage area on SinAware

I am new to Vatsim and want to fly with ATC to practice speaking to someone. I look at the SinAware website and it shows which area what coverage but in some locations it is just “A” which I am assuming is ATIS. And in some locations, there is a area marked but has no indication of any alphabets. How do I read this?

Another related question. I flew from MPBO to MROC recently. MPBO is uncontrolled, so I announced by intentions on 122.8 and took off. On xPilot, I saw that there was someone online at Centre in MROC with a frequency. Following the top down approach, should I have contacted Centre MROC or just use 122.8 until I am closer to MROC and contact Tower there?

You can interpret SimAware as follows:

• yellow A = an ATIS is available for this airport
  • blue D = a Delivery controller is connected at this airport
  • green G = a Ground controller is connected at this airport
  • red T = a Tower controller is connected at this airport

These are the aerodrome stations. You could also come across a Ramp controller at some point, but I have no clue if/how SimAware displays those because it is a very new station type and I have not yet seen this station being used anywhere.
For radar/procedural stations you will find:

• blue outline = a departure/approach controller is online for this airspace
  • white outline = an enroute controller is online for this airspace