Flying transatlantic, how are you doing it?

Hi all,
I am new to VATSIM, but have been flying online on another network for many years. I have done offline transatlantic flights, with lots of time acceleration. But recently on VATSIM, I am seeing lots of flights crossing the Atlantic, and very often an Oceanic Control is also online. So naturally, I want to try that, too.
My question for you guys who fly transatlantic is: how do you do it? I’m not into big airliners, I mostly fly a Citation Longitude, which takes about 6.5 hours from Dublin to Bangor. What do you guys do during that time? Do you use time acceleration in your sim? (obviously not while ATC is online!)
Do you disconnect over the Atlantic when no ATC is online and go do something else?
Real-world pilots obviously have a lot to do even in cruise flight, but I am afraid that I might get terribly bored during a 6 hour flight through the night with nobody to talk to.
Any information about your experiences will be very helpful.

1 Like

Here is what I do, and I’ll even do this with airliners, though if I go private/bizjet, I’ll use something like the Embraer Lineage 1000 (E195).

I’ll do a KLAS-EGLC, or KLAS-EGSS run. I’ll start at say, midnight. Spend the 45 minutes flying out of the terminal area, engage the AP, get to cruise altitude, make sure everything looks okay, then disconnect. That 45 minutes to an hour should put me somewhere between Salt Lake City and Denver. No time acceleration needed neither on nor off the network.

Then I go to sleep.

Sleep normally 8 - 9 hours. By the time I wake up and get myself together for the day and reconnect, I should be somewhere off the coast of Ireland or between Ireland and the UK. I reconnect, refile my flight plan, and contact the closest suitable ATC, and continue my flight.