Could Someone Give me Advice on Enhancing Realism in VATSIM Flights?

Hello there,

As I am new to VATSIM and have been thoroughly enjoying the experience so far. The community has been incredibly welcoming; and the realism of the flights has added a whole new dimension to my flight simulation hobby.

While I have got the basics down; I sometimes struggle with the more advanced aspects of communicating with ATC; especially during busy periods or in complex airspace. Are there any resources; tips; or practice methods you recommend for improving in this area?

I have been using some basic tools for flight planning; but I want to ensure I am creating the most realistic and efficient flight plans possible. What tools and resources do experienced pilots use for detailed flight planning; including fuel calculations; route selection; and weather considerations?

I am flying mostly with the default aircraft available in my sim; but I am considering investing in more advanced; study-level aircraft. Which aircraft add-ons do you recommend for someone looking to deepen their understanding ;of real world procedures and systems?

Also, I have gone through this post: https://forums.vatsim.net/topic/31787-new-to-vatsim-looking-for-a-bit-of-mlops-guidance/ which definitely helped me out a lot.

Additionally; any tips on transitioning from; default aircraft to these more complex models would be appreciated.

Thank you all in advance for your help and assistances.

For this we need to know the following:

• what is your main area/region of operating flights?
  • what flight simulator platform are you using?
  • what is your budget?
  • what are your interests, airlines, business jets, general aviation/light aircraft?