Clarification on Top Down ATC

Hi All,
Im new to VATSIM and wanted a clarification on Top Down ATC. I understand it in concept, but my question is on frequency selection.
By way of example, lets say I spawn on the ground at Hanscom Airfield, Mass USA (KBED). A TERM ctrlr is online at KBOS and KBED is under their airspace.
I would understand that I use the call “Hanscom GND or CLC DLV” on initial contact, and actually talk to the KBOS Terminal controller, but is that terminal controller monitoring the frequencies underneath him, in this case 121.7 for Hanscom Ground? By the observation that I did the other night it appears that “all” comms with this controller is done on the KBOS frequency. Is this correct? If so, understandable for staffing limitations in the simulated world, but also breaks the illusion somewhat to a small degree.
I suppose a good comprimise might be to use comm 2 for VATSIM transmissions, but for training purposes switch “legitimate” published frequencies in Comm 1 and just pretend thats the active frequency.

Hi Adrian, and welcome to VATSIM.

Of course, we have to bend reality a bit to accommodate the hobby environment, where everyone is a volunteer, participating as they have time and interest.

In our top-down environment, you would call the controller that is “above” the real-world (RW) position you would normally contact.

In your example, you mentioned “Terminal”. Though I know what that means from a US FAA ATC perspective, in our environment we typically would refer to “Center” or “Approach” or “Departure”.

So… in the case if you at KBED, if BOS_APP (or A90_APP) were online, you’d call them (normally 133.00) and would refer to them as Boston Approach. If Boston Approach (or A90) were not online, but Boston Center was (normally 134.70), you’d call them, and call them Boston Center.